August 27, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections
35th Annual Basketball Marathon results
Monday, April 01, 2013 5:00 PM

PAYNE – This year's marathon was the largest ever & the most profitable. The Marathon had 126 teams this year that played for 31.5 hours during the 35th anniversary. The society treasurer has a preliminary estimate of a net profit of $10,400. This amount also includes a $750 matching funds donation from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans as well as a $555 profit from the 2012 Ohio State Buckeye autographed football raffle. Last year in 2012 the Marathon raised $9,200, which included similar donations. The Paulding County Society for Crippled Children & Adults helped 125 people at a cost of $15,000 in 2012.

Mini-tots division

1st place Ditmyer at Lee Kinstle with 66 points, 2nd place Dealey Accounting with 55 points, Sportsmanship: Williamson Insurance

Tots division

1st place John’s Manville with 52 points, 2nd place Napa True Value with 38 points, Sportsmanship: Noggle Farms


1st place East Allen Ag & Turf with 56 points, 2nd place Bubble Gum Babes with 48 points, Sportsmanship: Dealey Farms


1st place Foltz Insurance with 76 points, 2nd place Midwest Federal Community Credit Union with 75 points, Sportsmanship: Junior Leaders


1st place The Linder Clan with 160 points, 2nd place Walnut Street Warriors with 92 points, Sportsmanship: Lace Up, 2nd Sportsmanship awarded to: In Memory of Nate


1st place Hooker Enterprises Painting with 41 points, 2nd place Save Da Ta Ta’s with 32 points


1st place Antwerp Pit Stop with 99 points, 2nd place Slattery Oil with 88 points, Sportsmanship: Lichty Barber Shop

The Traveling Plaque was awarded to Marcia Pressler for her long time service as our Society treasurer & all that she does to help coordinate the event for the Marathon during our 35 year history.

The Ohio State football raffle winner was Mike Denning from Payne.

Contact Chad Benschneider for your trophies if you didn’t attend the awards ceremony or if you have lost items at 419-769-4708 or email: