August 20, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections
Sen. Brown: Approaching deadline for small businesses in 39 Ohio counties to seek recovery assistance from severe storms
Thursday, April 18, 2013 2:27 PM

WASHINGTON D.C. – Small businesses in 39 Ohio counties, will now have access to federal resources to offset losses as a result severe storms and winds that occurred between June 29 and July 2, 2012. U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) encourages eligible entities to apply for assistance from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) in advance of the May 20, 2013 deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans. The loans are available for small businesses in Adams, Allen, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Champaign, Clark, Coshocton, Fairfield, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Logan, Meigs, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Putnam, Shelby, Van Wert, Vinton, Washington and Wyandot counties that faced an adverse economic impact because of the storms and winds.

“Ohio small business owners can now access resources needed to recover from last summer’s severe storms — which may have impacted their business through no fault of their own,” Brown said. “These loans will help businesses rebuild and get back on their feet.”

Under this declaration, the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program is available to eligible farm and nonfarm entities that suffered financial losses as a direct result of the weather. The loan amount can be up to $2 million with a three percent interest rate for non-profit organizations, four percent for small businesses, and terms up to 30 years, according to the SBA.

Disaster loan information and application forms may be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to Loan applications can be downloaded from

Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155. Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at The deadline for loan applications is May 20, 2013.