August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections
Paulding Athletic Hall of Fame to induct 3 teams
Monday, August 26, 2013 11:45 PM

PAULDING – Paulding High School will be holding its next induction of the Paulding High School Athletic Hall of Fame this Friday, Aug. 30 before the varsity football game with Wayne Trace.

PHS will be inducting the 1957 football team, the 1960 boys track team and the 1988 football team.

This induction will take place at approximately 6:30 p.m. on the track in front of the home bleachers.

Those set to be honored are:


The 1957 Paulding High School football team was the first undefeated/untied team in school history, as they posted an 8-0 record. This 8-0 record was a part of a 16 game winning streak that spanned two seasons. Not only did this football team finish without a blemish on their record, but they also shut out seven of the eight opponents that they faced, only giving up 6 points to Rockford, giving up less than one point per game. They outscored their opponents by an average of 26 points per game.

This team consisted of three all state performers in John Henry Kauser, Jim Paulus and George Morones and also has Paulding High School Athletic Hall of Fame members in Mike Goings, Michael Connor, John Henry Kauser and Jerry Delong. Some of the members of this team went on to be a part of the 1960 Class “A” State Championship track team as well.


The 1960 Paulding High School Boys track team is the only state championship team in Paulding High School history. The team had a very successful season, as they also won championships at the Tiffin Relays, Bryan Relays and Paulding Relays and won the Northwest Buckeye League championship. They were runners-up at the Northwestern Ohio District track meet before going on to win the Class “A” State Championship.

Coach Paul Nestor said regarding this squad, “Sometimes you wait a lifetime for a big winner. I’ve been here only four weeks and the area comes up with a state championship with Paulding High’s well-knit track squad.”

Several members of the team went on to become inducted individually into the Paulding High School Athletic Hall of Fame. Those members include Mike Goings and Michael Connor.


The 1988 Paulding High School football team is the last team to finish undefeated, going 10-0. The upperclassmen on this team were a part of an 18-2 record that spanned over the 1987 and 1988 seasons.

The 1988 team dominated on both sides of the ball as they were the leading offensive and defensive team in the Northwest Conference, and outscored their opponents by 34 points per game. This team finished as the 12th ranked team in the Division III by the Associated Press, with the highlight of the season being putting an end to Delphos Jefferson’s 49-game regular season winning streak with a 17-0 shutout victory.

The Panthers touted many players who were honored as first team all conference members (eight), with Max Eifrid and Rob Kesler earning First Team all state honors. Max Eifrid was also honored as the AP Linemen of the Year and was also a finalist for the prestigious Ohio “Mr. Football” award. Team members Tony Vogel and Tim Phlipot and Head Coach Jim Caserta are members of the Paulding High School Athletic Hall of Fame.