August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections
Speice named Ohio's co-Offensive Player of the Year PDF Print E-mail
Friday, December 06, 2013 10:38 AM

Raiders Wenzlick, Showalter, Blackmore also recognized among Ohio elite

By JOHN PARENT • DHI Correspondent

COLUMBUS – The Wayne Trace Raiders are getting set to play in their first-ever state football championship game. Not only are they one of the top two teams in Ohio in Division VI, but, according to the AP, they have one of the two best offensive weapons.

The Associated Press released its All-Ohio teams for Division VI on Wednesday, Dec. 4 and Raiders’ star quarterback Colby Speice was named co-Offensive Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Akili Taylor, a running back from Columbus Bishop Ready.

Speice, who has thrown for nearly 4,700 yards this season has an amazing 62 touchdown passes. His favorite target, senior wideout Korbin Showalter, has caught 25 of those as a part of his 77 catches this season totaling over 1650 yards. For his efforts, Showalter joined Speice as a First-Team All-Ohio selection.

Defensive lineman Devin Wenzlick earned Second-Team All-Ohio and fellow senior T.J. Blackmore was named to the Third Team as an offensive lineman.

Several players from area Northwest Conference teams were also among the honored by the AP on Wednesday.

Zavier Buzard, Delphos Jefferson’s dominating tailback and NWC Offensive Player of the Year was named second-team All-Ohio while his teammate, Ross Thompson, earned Second Team honors as a linebacker. Jefferson lineman Isaac Illig was named to the Third Team offense while Crestview’s Scott Miller was named to the Third Team as a defensive lineman.

Isaiah Simerman of Crestview and Jefferson’s Jordan McCann received special mention honors.