August 20, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections

Latest video

NEWS: The Progress has been serving county readers and businesses for more than a century!…..... The Progress is Paulding County’s newspaper of record........The Progress has more subscribers in Paulding County than any other newspaper.......
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2014 JoomlaWorks Ltd.
See our online photo gallery!

Local Weather

WT’s Speice named GMC Offensive Player of the Year


After wrapping up his career by leading his team to the state championship game, Wayne Trace senior quarterback Colby Speice was honored as Green Meadows Conference Offensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches.

Tinora senior defensive back Derek Drewes garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors for the GMC after leading his team to the regional semifinals and a league title.

Other Wayne Trace players picking up First Team honors were senior wide receiver Jake Gerber, senior wide receiver and defensive back Korbin Showalter, senior center Aaron Stoller, junior defensive tackle Chuckie Chastain, senior offensive tackle and defensive end Devin Wenzlick, senior defensive end Brock Worden and senior offensive guard T.J. Blackmore.

Speice also was named to the First Team as a linebacker.

Rounding out the list of First Team honorees were senior Luke Lawson (Ayersville, offensive end), senior Kaleb Johns (Hicksville, running back), senior Kurt Kahle (Tinora, running back), sophomore Riley Nagel (Tinora, running back), senior Jacob Zeigler (Tinora, defensive tackle), senior Logan Dickerson (Tinora, defensive tackle), junior Justin Flory (Tinora, linebacker and offensive guard), senior Austin Zachrich (Ayersville, linebacker), junior Josh Camp (Tinora, place kicker), senior Lucas Eberhardt (Ayersville, place kicker), senior Austin Mahan (Tinora, offensive tackle) and senior Reid Renollet (Tinora, defensive back). Drewes garnered first team honors as a punter as well.

Wayne Trace senior Jared Sherry took Second Team as a running back and linebacker while junior Riley Moore was named Second Team as a defensive tackle. Worden garnered a Second Team award as an offensive tackle and Gerber picked up a Second Team defensive back award.

Antwerp senior Tyler Messman was named to the Second Team as both a running back and a linebacker.

Archer juniors Jake Arend and Jake Dingus each were named Honorable Mention. Junior Jarett Bute and senior Derek Smalley also took Honorable Mention awards.