August 20, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections

Latest video

NEWS: The Progress has been serving county readers and businesses for more than a century!…..... The Progress is Paulding County’s newspaper of record........The Progress has more subscribers in Paulding County than any other newspaper.......
See our online photo gallery!

Local Weather

Trio named District 7 First Team

Brewer garners Coach of the Year honors


Panther head coach Shawn Brewer was named Co-Coach of the Year in Division III as the District 7 awards were announced recently.

Brewer led the Panthers to a 16-6 regular season record while also finishing 5-3 in a very competitive Northwest Conference.

Paulding’s Kyle Kauser and the Wayne Trace duo of Corbin Linder and Ethan Linder all were named District 7 First Team players recently in their respective divisions of Division III and Division IV.

Division III

Tinora’s Derek Drewes was the District 7 Division III Player of the Year with Liberty Center’s Greg Badenhop also being named a Co-Coach of the Year in Division III.

Also garnering First Team honors were Archbold’s Luke Fisher, Eastwood’s Jake Schmeltz, Liberty Center’s Kaleb Pohlman, Evergreen’s Logan Pinkleman, Swanton’s Bryce McComb and Delta’s Justin Callahan.

Picking up Second Team awards were Archbold’s Tyson Schnitkey, Elmwood’s Aaron Arnold, Delta’s Scott Garlinger, Tinora’s Jacob Miller, Paulding’s Guy Harder, Fairview’s Daniel Smith and Liberty Center’s Logan Meyer.

Paulding’s Quentin Vance and Treston Gonzales each received Honorable Mention.

Delta’s Brigan Wymer and Archbold’s Brian Zeigler were named Player and Coach of the Year in Division III girls.

Archbold’s Cassidy Wyse, Genoa’s Clara Albright, Oak Harbor’s Andrea Cecil, Evergreen’s Haili Mossing, Elmwood’s Kristen Curtis, Rossford’s Julie Hotz and Woodmore’s Allie Wank were named to the First Team.

Second Team players included Liberty Center’s Niki Meyer, Archbold’s Jesse Fidler, Ottawa Hills’ Allie Dewine, Tinora’s Ashley Mack, Genoa’s Haley Pickard, Archbold’s Cassidy Williams and Otsego’s Morgan Smoyer.

Paulding’s Abby Pease and Sierra McCullough both picked up Honorable Mention.

Division IV

Ottawa Hills’ John Lindsay and Geoff Beans were named Division IV Coach and Player of the Year, respectively.

Other First Team players included Corbin and Ethan Linder of Wayne Trace, Stryker’s Parker Ruffer, Ayersville’s Trey Bauman, Cardinal Stritch’s Austin Adams and Edgerton’s Max Nihart.

Second Team honorees were Antwerp’s Derek Smalley, Gibsonburg’s Jordan Kreglow and Andrew Cantrell, Patrick Henry’s A.J. Wagner, Toledo Christian’s Kyle Kenpton, Fayette’s Chandler Sanford and Maumee Valley Country Day’s Thad Woodard.

Picking up Honorable Mention was the Antwerp trio of Kaden Brumett, Sam Williamson and Trenton Copsey along with Wayne Trace’s Colby Speice and Devin Wenzlick.

On the girls’ side, Pettisville’s Jason Waldvogel was tabbed as Coach of the Year while the Blackbirds’ Dana Fricke and Holgate’s Marissa Myles were named Co-Players of the Year.

Receiving First Team awards were Stryker’s Conner Varner, Ayersville’s Megan Schubert and Molly Hammersmith, Edgerton’s Devin Stark, Hilltop’s Hannah Bleikamp and the Fayette duo of Kaela Seiler and Taylor Griffiths.

Second Team honors went to Montpelier’s Hannah Blake, Pettisville’s Mikala Avina, Patrick Henry’s Kristin Bostelman, Holgate’s Sarah Niese and Mattie Grim and Toledo Christian’s Faith Johnson and Darian Westmeyer.

Antwerp’s Kaiya Jemison received Honorable Mention as did the Wayne Trace trio of Brenda Feasby, Erin Mohr and Lauren Speice.