September 1, 2014

Subscriber Login

Don't have a username and password? Phone 419-399-4015 or email to get yours today.
Click the E-Editions image below to see E-editions of the Progress, Weekly Reminder and special sections

Latest video

NEWS: The Progress has been serving county readers and businesses for more than a century!…..... The Progress is Paulding County’s newspaper of record........The Progress has more subscribers in Paulding County than any other newspaper.......
See our online photo gallery!

Local Weather

Antwerp Wrestling Club wins first at home tournament


ANTWERP – The Antwerp Wrestling Club recently won its first championship team trophy at the Archer Open held at Antwerp High School on April 5. The Archers narrowly defeated Liberty Center and Wayne Trace by a point to capture the first place team trophy.

The Antwerp Wrestling Club also had a club record 37 wrestlers competing in the tournament, with all 37 wrestlers placing in the top four of their respective weight classes.

Placing fourth were Hunter Sproles, Teagen Eaton, Griffin Kosch, Karsen Donat, Melanie Mills and Seth Hitzeman.

Finishing the day in third place were Ysabelle Ocampo, Riley Smith, Tavin Sholl, Ethan Steele, CJ Eaton, Landon Dockery, Alyssa Schuller, Ethan Karam, Kaden Phares, Logan Shaner, Justice Clark, Colton Hall and Jordan Laker.

Placing second at the Archer Open were Michael Rohrs, Julianna Ocampo, Lance McKeever, Chase Clark, Heaven Eaton, Kamren Johnson, Dayne Sholl, Alex Zijlstra, Alex Ocampo, Logan McKeever and Tyler Bauer.

The Archers also had a record high seven champions in the tournament. This year’s Archer Open champions are Skyler Octaviano, Luke McKeever, Avin Johnson, Eli Reinhart, Aidan McAlexander, Chris Schuller and Jarett Bute.

Just this year alone, the Antwerp Wrestling Club has set many new records for themselves from sending someone to the Grade School State Championships to to having a record number of kids compete at tournaments week in and week out to winning their first team championship. Along the way, many individuals won their first individual tournament somewhere as well.


WT Wrestling Club places third

ANTWERP – Saturday, April 5, Wayne Trace Wrestling Club participated in the 6th Annual Archer Open in Antwerp.

As a team, Wayne Trace finished third overall.

Individuals placing first were Graiden Troth, Asa Ames, Kamryn Sutton, Maddox Treece, Kaiden Feeney, Gabe Sutton, Hunter Long and Kameron Bevis.

Placing second were Jericho Guyton, Caleb Mosier, Derrek Dangler, Nathaniel Osborn, Jared Pierce, Anthoney Rooks and George Clemens.

Third-place finishers were Daniel Clark, Corbin Kimmel, Devon Egnor, Arin James, Jess Munger and Jarrett Hornish.

Placing fourth were Kaiden Suffel, Brennan Egnor, Corbin Delgado, Jacob Robinson, Devin Huffine, Brayson Parrish and Rain James.